Skip to content

Help me doctor, I think I’m dying.

May 31, 2011

I’ve been accused of being a hypochondriac before, and well, I sort of am. Here’s the thing: it’s not just a toothache that has me convinced I have jaw-cancer or a sore back that has me crying kidney failure. Sadly, the imagined problems have begun leaking over into my wardrobe (I’m sure it’s a real medical condition). What I mean is that I could be getting ready for a night out with some friends, do a quick check in the mirror to make sure I remembered to close the barn door, and before I know it I’ve spent 20 minutes obsessing over every little fly-away hair or that tiny wrinkle in my shirt that I’m convinced is trying to ruin my life. Don’t get me wrong- taking the time to make sure you look clean and polished is well worth it, but sometimes I feel like I need to slap myself and say, “Get over it!” After all, what good does an awesome outfit do you if you’re going to torture yourself over every little imperfection? This is a tough lesson I’ve been learning lately- no piece of clothing is perfect just like there is no perfect person. Putting your look together is so much more satisfying when it’s not about trying to attain perfection but instead deciding that, despite the imperfections, you are worth the effort. Like the old saying goes, “When you feel good, you look good.”  I’ve learned that even with expensive clothes and a slick haircut, confidence is still the best style essential…and the only thing impervious to coffee stains.

One Comment leave one →
  1. kaitlynrewired permalink
    June 1, 2011 5:19 pm

    Haha I love the picture!

Leave a Reply

